FR-44 Insurance in Florida or Virginia
If you’ve been convicted of driving under the influence in Florida or Virginia, you may need additional auto insurance – and a form called FR-44 to prove you have it. These two states say minimum auto insurance required is not sufficient for a driver with certain violations, including a DUI, and requires convicted drivers to purchase additional coverage.
An FR-44 requirement can be a blow to your wallet, as getting additional insurance after a serious breach doesn’t come cheap. However, shopping around can help. Here’s why you might need an FR-44 from your insurance company and how you can find the cheapest possible rates for you.
What is an FR-44?
You may hear the terms “FR-44 insurance” or “DUI insurance”, but it is not actually a type of insurance. An FR-44 is a form that your auto insurer files with the State Department of Motor Vehicles to prove that you have purchased the required amount of liability coverage after a DUI or other serious conviction.
Insurance required in either state will not pay for your injuries or to repair your own car after an accident – liability insurance pays for the expenses of others if you cause an accident that results in injury or material damage.
Who needs an FR-44?
In virginia, several violations can lead to an FR-44 requirement:
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Seriously and permanently injuring someone, also known as dismemberment, while driving under the influence.
Driving while your license is lost as a result of a previous conviction – or, in the case of a minor, a finding “not innocent”.
Violate similar federal laws, local ordinances, or the laws of other states.
If you need to get an FR-44 and not get one, you risk losing your driving privileges.
How much does an FR-44 cost?
The fees to file an FR-44 are usually $ 15 to $ 25, but that’s not the only expense you’ll face. Your auto insurance costs could change dramatically because:
After a DUI, insurers see you as a riskier driver and charge higher rates.
With an FR-44, you will need to purchase more than the minimum limits required for most drivers in your state. If you previously had minimum coverage, increasing the limits will increase the price.
You may also need to pay up front for at least six months of coverage.
However, not all insurance companies will charge you the same price. When insurers set their rates, they weigh your driving record and other factors differently. This means that the company that was cheapest for you prior to your FR-44 application may not have the lowest rates for you currently.
How to get an FR-44
If you need an FR-44, ask your insurer to file one on your behalf. An FR-44 is your insurance company’s guarantee to the state that you’ve purchased the required level of coverage, so you can’t file one yourself.
Not all insurance companies file an FR-44 form. If your insurer does not provide this service, you will need to find one.
How long you have to transport an FR-44
An FR-44 requirement typically lasts for three years, from the day your license was suspended, and you are expected to maintain continuous insurance coverage throughout the period. An interruption of coverage may result in your license being suspended again.
When your need ends, it’s time to shop around for insurance quotes. If you have remained violation-free, you will likely be able to find far lower rates. Nerdwallet auto insurance comparison tool can help.
Insurance FR-44 without vehicle
You will need to purchase auto insurance with the FR-44 deposit even if you don’t own a car, which means purchasing a auto insurance for non-owners Politics. If you ever borrow a vehicle and are the victim of an accident, this policy will provide you with the increased liability coverage required by an FR-44 to pay for any injuries or damages you cause.
To purchase a non-owner policy, you will likely need to call multiple agents or insurance companies to compare quotes – you usually cannot get a non-owner policy quote online.
The difference between SR-22 and FR-44
An FR-44 is similar to an SR-22 form for auto insurance, which many states require after a DUI or other serious violation. While Florida and Virginia have both forms, the main difference between them is:
A SR-22 shows that you have purchased at least the minimum required state liability insurance.
A FR-44 proves that you bought the highest amounts that Florida and Virginia need after certain convictions.
How much insurance do you need
In Florida, drivers with an FR-44 requirement must have liability insurance with these limits:
$ 100,000 of civil liability per person.
Civil liability of $ 300,000 per accident.
Liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident.
While these liability coverage amounts are typical for many standard auto insurance policies, they are much higher than the Florida minimum requirements of $ 10,000 for accidental property damage liability and $ 10,000 for accidental property damage liability. protection against injury.
In virginia, the liability limits required for drivers with an FR-44 are:
Civil liability of $ 50,000 per person.
Civil liability of $ 100,000 per accident.
Liability for property damage of $ 40,000 per accident.
This is double the minimum coverage required in Virginia.
How to find affordable auto insurance with an FR-44
While it’s true that a driver with an irregular history will have to pay more for auto insurance, that doesn’t mean you can’t find a reasonably priced policy. Here are some tips for finding cheap auto insurance:
Drive less if possible. Driving frequently means a greater risk of having an accident, which means you will likely pay more for insurance. Consider carpooling, biking, or taking public transportation to reduce your mileage and potentially lower your insurance rate.
Look for discounts. While auto insurance discounts vary by insurance company, you can save money if you combine your auto insurance with a home or tenant policy, purchase your insurance online, or sign up to receive your bill via email.
Collision drop and full coverage. If you are driving in an old car it may not make sense to continue paying collision and comprehensive coverage, which only pays for damage to your car up to its current market value.
Increase your deductible. One higher deductible will reduce your rate, so compare quotes with different deductibles to find the cheapest option. Remember that you will have to pay out of pocket, up to your deductible, for any claims you file.
Improve your credit. Most states allow auto insurers to use a driver’s credit history to set rates. While this is not a quick fix, you can lower your long-term rate if you work on rebuild your credit by making bill payments on time and using less than 10% of your credit card limit.